Which nerf was more overdone? Mana Vortex, or Warsong Commander?

• Mana Vortex
  • Warsong Commander

0 voters

This thread is tongue-in-cheek, but really, the Mana Vortex nerf is the most ridiculous nerf a card has received since I started playing this game. My own control decks that used the card are now unplayable because spells like Twin Strikes are way too expensive to use without combo cards like Mana Vortex AND Crescent Spear. While an entire Songhai archetype was dealt a deathblow, facerush rampage is now the only meta I experience in S-Rank. I get one of three choices for opponents now:

Lyonar, featuring Holy Immolation spam into Roar’d Saberspine Tigers.
Magmar, featuring Elucidator and Makantor Warbeast spam into Keeper of the Value for even more facerush spam.
Abyssian, featuring a bunch of random cards that don’t matter because you will inevitably get hit in the face by three Spectral Revenants anyway.

Rush, as a mechanic, is a bigger problem in this game than it ever has been. Meanwhile, Mana Vortex has gone from one of the best cards in the game to trash. Couldn’t it at least have reduced mana costs by 3 to preserve its tempo aspect?

imagine the horror of 5 mana spiral techniques.

compare mana vortex to flash reincarnation and darkfire sacrifice. they both cost 0 to make a minion cost 2 less, but take something in return. darkfire takes a body, and flash takes damage. now look at old mana vortex. it reduces your mana cost by 1 AND draws you a card for 0 mana without any downsides.

It was broken, and now its trash because it isn’t broken.

if mana vortex was like flash or darkfire, then perhaps it would look something like this.

reduce the next spell you play by 2 mana, deal 2 damage to your general.

would you really want that?

P.S. i have no idea what warsong commander is.

Warsong who? 15characters

I voted then realized this would happen:

You should probably put both the cards in their original and changed forms into the OP, @karsticles .