Walls and Their Destructive Power!

I want to ask a rather simple question to everyone, one I thought would have been simple but in the end lost me a game. To preface this, I am not talking about walls that come into play WITH an attack value, but rather those that come into play with 0 attack value.

Should walls be able to attack?

• Yes, of course, why shouldn’t they be?
  • No, a wall is a wall, it has no cognitive ability, much less the initiative to target an enemy minion or general.

0 voters

While I understand this is a game where magic and the inane prevail, why on earth should I need to fear something that comes into play with 0 attack value. I lost a match I was about to win on the next turn simply because I had my general next to a wall and the enemy buffed it with three +3 spells (some Vanar stuff or something) and then used their general attack on me to kill me.

I’m new to the game, been playing for almost a week, so this may be the case of me just not getting it, but even in a Gauntlet match, when I had some gargoyle statue (Bastion), I tried to buff that with attack and it didn’t work, it stayed at 0 attack because apparently it’s a structure (not a wall though!), but yet a frozen ice wall can become a 9 attack WALL and smash my face in? Why on Earth is this a thing…

Anyhow, like in my other thread please feel free to point out the flaws in my logic if there are any, I’m open to being wrong, I just feel like a wall that starts at 0 attack should stay at 0 attack.

Thematically, does it make much sense for walls to attack? Maybe not. Balance-wise, however, wall vanar needs as much support as it can get, and walls like bonechill barrier have more potential to control if you’re scared of going near them. It’s also one of the few things that distinguish vanar’s walls from structures (the second being that walls disappear when dispelled), so design-wise it’s a good idea to let walls attack. This was a one time mistake, learn your lesson and move on.