Duelyst Forums

Soul Grimwar vs Deathfire Crescendo

If you were a noob in today’s meta and wanted to raise up in the ranks, which would you choose to craft?

• Grimwar
  • DFC

0 voters

Thoughts?

I would say neither or both. I’ve never really played hyper swarm and haven’t used those cards. I feel like you would kinda want both if there was room in the deck for both to exist. Since there are very easy ways to deal with both, it would allow for the flexibility for a finisher depending what you are up against. But I also said neither because playing hyper swarm or a deck that would use those cards, wouldn’t be the deck I would choose to climb with, even if I was a noob again.

Deathfire, because it has more range (insofar as range also means ability to bypass bodyblocks), and you can jank-combo it with that Fling-like card I forget the name?

I feel like DFC is superior in a sense where it does not require the General to engage up front with an enemy, which often can be risky.

I would say Grimwar has more uses than DFC.

1. You may use it as an unexpected immediate finisher or damage dealer (same as DFC).
  2. You may preemptevely equip it to make board clears a bad idea (DFC doesn’t always have this option)

But for a noob DFC is better, since it’s safer.

Alplods right on the money. Grimwar is much more flexible.

It’s actually a really interesting point of conversation and is rather meta dependent. In AOE heavy meta Grimwar is the winner. But in Aggressive/ping heavy metas Cresendo is better.

Allthough as pointed out basically any list that wants Cresendo also wants Grimwar. But Grimwar has some fun more gimmicky decks based around it that Cresendo does not.

Deck composition also certainly effects it. Old school approach using mini Jax range and such made Cresendo a better choice, but these days we like our wraithling synergy.