Room mate just got into the game, needs some help

Hey there,
I’ve been playing Duelyst for a few weeks, and recently got my room mate into the game. He seems to really like it, but is somewhat struggling. He’s playing abyssian, and it seems hard to climb.
I’m wondering: Is the swarm archetype viable at all? What are the most important tactical advises for these kinds of decks?

On another note, does anyone actually still have a humble bundle code for the spirit orbs that I could give to him just to give him a head start? Unlikely right now, but I figured I might as well ask on his behalf as well. In that case, it’d be so awesome of you to PM me so that I can give it to him as a nice little surprise.

Welcome to the game :stuck_out_tongue:
There are giveaway topic in both the forum and reddit, u can participate in those. Theres also the discord server(its on duelyst page) for players to chat and share things.
Im not good at abyssian, but u should try Wintermule stream(25 abyss ribbons) to learn the faction, Hsuku or Grincher (deck tweaking) to get help with deck building and game play advises :smiley:

Abyssian Swarm isn’t in a good spot right now, there is a lot of AoE removal. I guess that it would make things better for him if he had 3 Bloodmon Priestesses.

Hey, I haven’t seen a giveaway thread here on the forums, could you send me the link?

Swarm abyssian is definitely viable, at least to diamond this season. And most likely S-rank, although I haven’t seen any posts about s-rank swarm in the month of November. Tell him he should really go for blood moon priestess and shadowdancer if he doesn’t already have them.

Also make sure he has a good curve/ draw ratio, I know that when I made my first abyssian swarm deck I had way too many cheap cards. Although you should have a lot of cheap cards in swarm abyssian because it’s very important to have a strong early game, just make sure he doesn’t overdo it.