New-ish F2P Players and buying orbs. Best Practices

Hi all,

NovaRails here. I’m looking for some advice (again) as an F2P player using gold to by orbs. With the new expansion out I am wondering what people think is the best place to invest gold. As a bit of a background as to where I am coming from (but also important for people just joining on Steam), I have been playing for around 6 months. I have been strictly an F2P player for the entire time. Generally I am only able to play enough to buy about 0.75 orbs per day (so about 5 orbs a week). I have made it to Diamond Rank and I believe I can play 2 to 3 relatively well rounded decks (in Vanar and Lyonar).

My personal card collection, without going in to too much detail, consists of (when I give a number I mean cards, not sets of 3):

• All the neutral commons
  • All rares for Vanar and Lyonar
  • A growing set of neutral epics (most of which are 2 or 1 ofs)
  • About 4 to 5 epics for each faction (except Vanar where I have 8)
  • 15 Neutral Legendaries (mostly in the 6 to 7 mana range)
  • Each faction I have 1 to 2 Legendaries (with the exception of Vanar where I have 6)

Generally I lack the more popular Epic-Legendary cards in the core set, like Spelljammer and Zen’rui, and faction cards like Arclyte Regalia and Spectral Revenant.

But enough about me. The topic is more a general sort of “As a new player where should I invest in my gold? Core set orbs, Shim’zar orbs, or should I be playing Gauntlet to build my collection?”

Let me know what people think in general!

When I started playing a few days ago, I made a spreadsheet to figure out which is more expensive, Duelyst or Hearthstone. My brother wasn’t convinced Duelyst was cheaper because legendaries are far more prolific because they’re not limited to one-ofs and the decks are larger.