Duelyst Forums

Need some Duelers opinions

Hello!
I’m actually a game developer. My goal is to make a Duelyst-like game but with some differences.

-There is a TLDR at the end for lazy people-

Actually, I said Duelyst-like but the common point will be turn-based board game where you have the possibility to create your own unique playstyle.
The biggest difference will be that the focus will be placed on Generals, not minions. In my opinion, minions are the main factor of the boring aspect of Duelyst, it’s pretty much “remove or die” every turn until you can’t remove any more, then you lose. Of course, I’m exaggerating a lot and Duelyst isn’t entirely like that, but anyway it’s not the topic I want to talk about.

I already made an online game before so I’m pretty confident I can do it.
I put a lot of thoughts into it and shaped a rough outline of what it might be :

• Turn-based board game focused on Generals, not minions (there will still be minions though). You’ll be able to play 1v1, 2v2 and maybe even more.

• No cards. No decks. (No RNG!) So how you customize your playstyle? The game has classes. Each class has 5 active skills and 3 passive ones, but you can actually choose for your 4th/5th active skill and 3rd passive skill between 2 skills. In other words, your loadout should be: (Skill 1, Skill 2, Skill 3, Skill 4 A or B, Skill 5 C or D, Passive Skill 1, Passive Skill 2, Passive Skill 3 E or F). So you have a bit of personalization on each class with the skills (that’s already 8 different loadout possibilities). But well, that’s far from enough, so let me introduce you to the next part…