Hello! Coming from HS

Hey all! This is my first time here at Duelyst! Coming from Hearthstone, I’m looking to find the right card game that has a good mix between card game mechanics vs. actual tactics. Duelyst seems to fit that niché!

Anywho, any tips or pointers on what to do for starters, it would be appreciated! :smiley:

Hi Young! Welcome to our game and the forums :smiley: A good place to start is to get all the factions to level 10 and then figure out what faction and/or general you enjoy playing with.

Craft Primus Fist and Dancing Blades as soon as you can. They’re strong commons that pull a surprising amount of weight.

Good positioning wins games. Thoughtful placement of minions will keep them alive longer and limit your opponents movements and attacks. Don’t be afraid to body block with your general.

Fellow player coming from HS here.

Duelyst is a little more complex than Hearthstone, having a grid and all. But other than that the two games are very similar. You will find that learning Duelyst will come easily to you. I would recommend doing the solo challenges for the gold as well as getting a feel of what all is possible as far as mechanics go.

Like what was stated above, familiarize yourself a bit with each of the factions, see which ones you like and such. Each one has their strengths and staple cards.

You will quickly discover that Duelyst is a very aggressive card game, none of that freeze-mage or control warrior nonsense. Control exists but it’s not as pronounced as other card games. Be prepared to lay down the pressure and start working towards your plan turn 1. Most matches won’t last 10 turns, and if they do it’s likely just delaying the inevitable.

Welcome, and enjoy yourself! I still play HS but I like Duelyst a lot more. I think you’ll enjoy it too.

Go for the regular orbs to begin with, as they do have many staples which are needed for most decks.