Fan Lore Entry Compendium

Hey, I’m Sirius, and I’m a writer who hopes to one day write for CPG as someone who expands the lore of Mythron. Since only one entry is allowed for the lore contest, but I was itching to show more fanworks, I figured I might as well start posting them and maybe if I’m good enough I’ll get noticed by the right people? Who knows :B

I’ll be following the lore contest’s specifications: name of the card, flavor text, and a 200-300 word short story. Without further ado, here’s the first.

OBLITERATE

Some things should be forgotten. Others cannot be allowed to.

Ever since The First Blooming, there is magic in Mythron that dare not even be spoken in whispers—tomes bound in leather whose veins still beat, ink the color of stale blood on stained vellum giving readers sane too much knowledge, and those insane, too many opportunities. But impossible locks and impenetrable puzzles can only hope to prevent future slaughters; it does nothing to erase the memories of the past.

What is a life of a lone mage—perhaps forced to recite the morbid rites before unassailable cities, perhaps honored to be chosen by the tithe—to a ruler’s temptation of a war won with only one soldier lost? What is the cost of machines of war, of feeding armies, of smithing weaponry, when all it takes to bring a nation to its knees is a single ritual sacrifice?