Duelyst: Bursting with Burst!

Hi guys! Since I began playing Duelyst in January, I’ve watched the game become increasingly aggressive nearly every season. And I think that this is because Duelyst has introduced a great number of burst cards since the time I started playing. (For new players, burst is basically out-of-hand damage)

Now don’t get me wrong, I believe in comeback mechanisms, and it certainly wouldn’t be fair if players always lost simply because their early game was weaker. But I also believe that players should be rewarded for preserving the proper cards, and taking the time to develop the superior board presence, As it stands now, I don’t think players are rewarded for these things, and I feel as though it is because of the wide array of burst options that are available.

What’s your opinion on the amount of burst in Duelyst? And how do you think it shapes the game today? Let me know in the comments!

Songhai pulled 18 damage out In 1 turn once.

L’kian to scarlet viper, to inner focus 3 times in a row.

This is my biggest concern with the current direction of Duelyst, and my main reason I haven’t been bothered to play this season. The shift to “Fast games = Interesting and Fun Gameplay” mindset of Duelyst- which isn’t necessarily true- has caused higher cost “control-type” cards to become useless in the increasingly fast meta and seemingly out of place in the card pool. The meta diversity of which has, since last december, boiled down into aggressive and midrange tempo decks.

To my knowledge, there aren’t any true control decks in the meta, and it will continue this way further into the future if CP doesn’t slow down the game somehow.

TLDR; I want a diversity control decks in the meta and the game is too fucking fast right now.

Yeah i agree, the game is speeding up every season with no end in sight. I hope they listen and slow the game down enough to enable control to be viable.

turn 1 lethal incoming.

Is that even possible?