Deck Building Help

Hello. I am new to Duelyst. While I understand the gameplay basics, I having trouble building a good deck with the starting cards already given to me. I tried looking at a few decks on the forums, but I am low on both spirit and gold. What are some tips to improve my deck building? Additionally, since I am new, I have a difficult time telling the difference between a good card and a bad card. Currently, I only own the starting cards, the unlockable cards for each faction, and the entire Bloodborn expansion (I bought it thinking that it will be a good investment because I am planning on playing Duelyst for a long time; it has been a very enjoyable experience so far). I am particularly interested on the Vetruvian and Magmar Factions.

Hiya, thequesti0n.

Here’s a thread that might help you out. @akurane had a very good list of questions which was repeatedly answered very well here: Question for Deckbuilding

Beyond that, card evaluation can be a tricky thing. You have to try to think in terms of common scenarios and how the card will either win you the game or affect the board state.

For example, I don’t play Void Hunter because it doesn’t affect the board and its effect doesn’t help me win the game. It doesn’t affect the board because the best move against Void Hunter is very often just to hit it with your general, so you’ve paid 3 mana to do not very much, while your opponent gets to keep their minion. Another example would be Zurael, the Lifegiver. I don’t play him because, while his effect can win games immediately, the most common use case for him is just to bring back one, maybe two or three minions.

I hope this and the stuff in akurane’s thread helps :?)

Managers are just here to tell YOU what to do, they ain’t gonna work.

Welcome to Duelyst!