Countering Vetruvians' early aggression

I’m not a pro player by any means, but I like to eviscerate the best strategies of the games I play. I’m learning and improving on the game by myself, but there is one aspect of the game which most prominently give me troubles: early game aggression by Vets.

I’m not saying Vets are OP, but apparently I have troubles finding effective strategies to play around their early game. I typically hit Gold with moderate efforts by playing Magmar and Plasma Storm is a beast against Vets. At turn 5, it can easily clean the board, which eventually leads to victory quite often.

However, now I’m practising more with other factions and I realise how hard is to deal with the early aggression of Vets. For instance, I play a moderately slow Songhai deck for fun, built around positioning, and I have troubles at removing obelisks. And if I dare to play minions, Falcius is coming to contest the board. It’s also not obvious how to deal with buffed minions, since hard removals are better spent later against Aimaras.

A decent strategy I’m testing is moving the battle to my corners, so that the first placed obelisks are out of range, and using my general to keep enemies away from ranged units. But sometimes the aggression is overwhelming and hiding in the corner leads to being trapped.

What are your best strategies against fast Vet decks? Magmar have Plasma Storm, but what for the other factions? Any general tip? Do you try to hide and seek or do you aim at removing everything?

The trick is knowing how to avoid getting punished any harder by Pax than you have to. Obelysks are pretty easy to punch down when they’re used to pin you down. But preemptively attacking Pax, or trying to ignore it or the Dervishes can blow back hard. If you can, try to play around situations where you can pop both Pax and a Dervish at the same time, or make Pax pop itself during their turn.