Duelyst Forums

An Update from Counterplay Games

Greetings!

My name is Richard “JuveyD” Heyne and I’m a Producer at Counterplay Games. Some of you may remember me from 2017 when I served as the Duelyst community’s Head of Organized Play. I was responsible for the Duelyst World Championship, Duelyst Pro League and other sponsored community initiatives. I wanted to update you on the current state of Duelyst.

Before discussing Duelyst, since I was close with a lot of you just two years ago, I’d like to give a quick personal update and explain my role at CPG. Feel free to skip to the next paragraph if you want to jump right to section directly pertaining to Duelyst! My journey over the last two years has been a wild ride. When Bandai Namco first came on as Duelyst’s publisher, they agreed to take on the marketing efforts surrounding the game. Since tournaments/ esports fall under this “marketing umbrella,” I spent a couple of months passing the baton off. During this time, I was being trained to step in as a Producer for our upcoming project: Godfall. I would love to hear updates on your lives below, especially considering how closely I got to work with hundreds of you during my first year with Counterplay.

But this post is REALLY here to discuss Duelyst, not reminisce, though I do love nostalgia. Robert, as you probably know him as RHacker93, reached out to me regarding the Duelyst Reddit and forums. Upon reading through a series of threads related to concerns over the future state Duelyst, I talked to the Keith Lee, CEO of CPG. We agreed that the community deserved an update from us. Danny “ThanatosNoa” Ramos, legendary Duelyst Community Manager, assisted with preparing this post.